PDA

View Full Version : LH ECU & ETA



mikachantw
02-17-2014, 08:55 AM
Hi All,
I have a idle problem in my 500E and get another LH ECU.
Should I do the ETA relearn procedure when the new LH ECU installed?
thanks!

gsxr
02-17-2014, 09:26 AM
The ETA relearn procedure is almost never required. I've replaced E-GAS modules and ETA's and never done this, and never had even a hint of a problem. I think the ETA relearn thing is an old mechanic's tale, probably started by rebuilders as an excuse when customers complain the rebuilt item doesn't work right. But anyway... if you are only replacing an LH module, you do not need to do ANYTHING for the ETA or E-GAS. Those are totally separate.

When you install a new LH module, clear all the codes, and reset adaptation. If you don't have a Chinese SDS or other MB digital scanner, use a blinker box to reset adaptation by "clearing" code #1, after clearing all other codes and turning the ignition off for 10+ seconds (and then confirming they really cleared!).

:cel:

Niko
03-20-2014, 07:08 PM
Gsxr,
to reset adaptation LH with a blinker box you mean clear the modules (pins) and turn off the ignition for 10 +++ seconds, after start the engine, that s it?
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

gsxr
03-21-2014, 09:46 AM
To reset LH adaptation with the blinker box, first clear all codes, then "clear" the single-blink code (which indicates "no codes present"). Official FSM procedure below.

Resetting LH-SFI Control Module's Self-Adaptation Feature to Mean Value
After the number  1 [no codes] appears on the display, press button for 6 to 8
seconds. Ignition: OFF and wait 30 seconds

There's no way to confirm it was successful without a digital scanner.

:matrix:

Niko
03-21-2014, 11:42 AM
Thank you!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)