Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Has anyone upgraded from a Star C3 to a C4?

  1. #1
    E500E Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    778

    Has anyone upgraded from a Star C3 to a C4?

    All, I have a Star C3 diagnostic system and I don't like using it because it requires me to run an ancient pc and is kind of clunky. I'd like to move to a C4 on the cheap by keeping my accessories and just buying the unit. Anyone done this before? I have the external hard drive setup that launches a VM with the software installed.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member RicardoD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    468

    Re: Has anyone upgraded from a Star C3 to a C4?

    I am kinda in the market too and looking for a reputable C4 seller. But I need the whole thing. Please post when you figure out your solution. I'm afraid I am only googling and searching the one R129 thread on Benzworld.
    RicardoD
    1990 964 C4 / 1991 964 C2 tip
    1994 E500
    1991 560SEC
    2014 E350 for wife

  3. #3
    Site Honcho
    Klugscheisser
    Ich bekenne mich
    nicht schuldig.
    gerryvz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    The Woodlands, Texas, USA
    Posts
    15,497

    Re: Has anyone upgraded from a Star C3 to a C4?

    You can buy C4 units via aliexpress.com. They ship very rapidly from China.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to gerryvz For This Useful Post:

    TerryA (08-12-2017)

  5. #4
    .036 Hoonigan™
    E500E Boffin
    gsxr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Boise, ID, USA
    Posts
    18,694

    Re: Has anyone upgraded from a Star C3 to a C4?

    Quote Originally Posted by alabbasi View Post
    All, I have a Star C3 diagnostic system and I don't like using it because it requires me to run an ancient pc and is kind of clunky. ... I have the external hard drive setup that launches a VM with the software installed.
    Ah, that explains a lot. The C3 is pretty awful running in a VM, especially if it's an old laptop. If you run a native setup in a D630 (or equivalent) with SSD, it should be plenty fast. Still a bit clunky without a fancy touchscreen, but at least speed becomes a non-issue.

    I have no experience with the C4, sorry.

    Dave M.
    1997 E420 (Bugeyes)
    1994 E420 (Blondie)
    1994 E500 (Q-ship)
    1992 500E (Mach 5)
    1987 300D (Sportline Stage 2)
    Click here for my website
    Click here for my YouTube channel

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    79

    Re: Has anyone upgraded from a Star C3 to a C4?

    I have an exp with c3 and c4 . Rather original and clones.
    To be short : buy contemporary c4 but good clone( it can be upgraded later and works better) .
    I am not interested but good place to buy is http://specdiag.com/mb.html .

Similar Threads

  1. FS: 1995 Mercedes ETA with ASR and upgraded cable
    By Stevester 500E in forum Parts for Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2015, 03:03 PM
  2. We have a Star in Star Magazine
    By Maui in forum Off-Topic Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-2015, 07:55 PM
  3. FS: Upgraded Upper Engine Wiring Harness for a 1992 MB 400E
    By Stevester 500E in forum Parts for Sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2014, 08:42 PM
  4. Engine Harness tags - upgraded harness vs older biodegradable
    By Stevester 500E in forum M119 Engine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-20-2014, 09:34 AM
  5. Upgraded 19mm Rear Sway Installation Tips - Pictorial
    By slownrusty in forum C126 Coupes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-06-2013, 01:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •