Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: 500SL cluster is incorrect

  1. #1
    Senior Member Jord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Starke Florida
    Posts
    201

    500SL cluster is incorrect

    How many cluster options are there for early style 129's? I know my SL has another cluster in it because it reads 130k miles while the vin reads 242k. But when I'm doing 45 indicated then I'm actually doing 60mph according to GPS. Is the 6 cyl cluster interchangeable that could cause my speedometer to be off this much?

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    196

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    I think the easiest way to tell is the ASR light. 300SL didn't have ASR, 500SL did.

    Mercedes changed from analog to digital miles sometime during the 1994 model year as well. You can't swap those between each other.
    '00 E55 AMG
    '83 240D
    '80 300SD

  3. #3
    Senior Member Jord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Starke Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    This cluster does have an ASR warning light, not the triangle above the speedometer like the 124's though. The car also has it's stock 2.65 rear end.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    196

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    That redline starts at 7k on your cluster. I'm seeing 6k on the 300SL. Plus the ASR light. I'm 99% sure you have a 500SL cluster.

    You have 18s on vs the stock 16s. But I don't think it's enough to throw the speedo off 15mph like you said. And that doesn't explain the miles being different.
    '00 E55 AMG
    '83 240D
    '80 300SD

  5. #5
    Senior Member Jord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Starke Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    I was wondering if there were 500SL's with different differential options.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Senior Member outrbnks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Mid Hudson Valley, NY
    Posts
    274

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Is it possible that the Cluster could be original, but a Speedo with less mileage could have been swapped into the cluster?

    Could explain why the ASR triangle is missing, - a non ASR speedo from a 6 cyl ?
    04 E500-359 * 00 SL500-040 * 99 SL500-366 * 94 E420-744 * 92 500E-481/498 * 92 500E-199 * 92 300CE-199

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to outrbnks For This Useful Post:

    Jord (2 Weeks Ago)

  8. #7
    Senior Member Jord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Starke Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Could be. The 6cyl and 8 cyl share a speedometer style? Unlike the W124?

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Senior Member a777fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    431

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    7k redline?

    Wasn't the CIS 104 the only engine to have a 7k redline in this time period?

  10. #9
    E500E Guru Jlaa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Posts
    712

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by a777fan View Post
    7k redline?

    Wasn't the CIS 104 the only engine to have a 7k redline in this time period?
    The stickshift r129 300SL cames with the 7K redline M104!
    ---
    Instagram
    1993 MB 500E
    1996 Porsche 993 C2

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Jlaa For This Useful Post:

    a777fan (2 Weeks Ago)

  12. #10
    Senior Member Jord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Starke Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Cool, so the cluster is from an M104 car. Is it possible to get it calibrated to the rear end of the 500SL? Apparently these clusters are gold plated on Ebay.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  13. #11
    .036 Hoonigan™
    E500E Boffin
    gsxr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Boise, ID, USA
    Posts
    20,312

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    What everyone else said... you have a 300SL/M104 cluster in your 500SL. Also note the shift point indicators on the speedo face are way off, and are for a 5-speed transmission, which was only offered with the M104 on early R129's (the V8 models did not get a 5-speed trans until 1996).

    Assuming it's an electronic speedo similar to the 400E/500E, you can use a calibration unit like YellowBox to adjust for the different gearing. That won't fix the tach redline... assuming the tach reading accurately!


    For YellowBox, you need the 2-wire version for inductive coil pickups:
    http://yellr.com/yb_home.htm


  14. The Following User Says Thank You to gsxr For This Useful Post:

    Duh_Vinci (2 Weeks Ago)

  15. #12
    Senior Member a777fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    431

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by Jord View Post
    Cool, so the cluster is from an M104 car. Is it possible to get it calibrated to the rear end of the 500SL? Apparently these clusters are gold plated on Ebay.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    Might be able to pick n pull one easily, although with the mech odo it might limit the choice a bit. Does anyone know if a w140 cluster is the same bit? It certainly has a similar layout...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  16. #13
    Member Duh_Vinci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    56

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Just to add something to what was already mentioned, many have tried replacing their R129 cluster with W140 units, and while they may look identical, and do function, the speed reading being off is where the discrepancy is obvious...

    Regards,
    D

    EDIT, I knew I saved it somewhere re: w140 cluster (from another forum):

    ...The 140 number is the speedo gauge/odometer gauge, and it does not refer to the rest of the cluster. The analog R129 cluster gauges(analog odometers) the gauges are compatible with W140 analog cluster gauges are compatible. The R129/ W140 clusters with digital odometers have a different gauges(they are pinned different).


    Now, the whole cluster electronics is different, yet they are electrically compatible to about 98% to 99%. I want to say the illumination pin on the R129 is in different location than W140, but plugging a W140 cluster in R129 you will not blow up anything, but(A big BUT......) The fuel gauge will be different, yet the big problem is the W140 cluster cannot process the speed signal from the wheel sensors/Transmission sensor, and the early R129's from the 90 - 93 is the SH*TS when it comes to the clusters very inconsistent. The biggest problem is the R129 clusters process this speed signal. The speed signal is sent to the climate control, and most importantly sent to the top controller, and the top controller uses this speed signal to give you permission to raise the top, lower the top.


    ...
    Last edited by Duh_Vinci; 2 Weeks Ago at 05:10 PM.

  17. #14
    Senior Member a777fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    431

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Quote Originally Posted by Duh_Vinci View Post
    Just to add something to what was already mentioned, many have tried replacing their R129 cluster with W140 units, and while they may look identical, and do function, the speed reading being off is where the discrepancy is obvious...

    Regards,
    D

    EDIT, I knew I saved it somewhere re: w140 cluster (from another forum):
    Neat! Thanks for the info


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  18. #15
    E500E Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    DFW Texas
    Posts
    2,543

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    So simply use a w140 instrument panel w/ yellow box.

    I'm pretty sure you can find a R129 one at a yard if that is your preference. patience.

    Michael

  19. #16
    Senior Member Jord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Starke Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    Ok, so instead of making another thread I'll just change this one. I've been tinkering with this car off and on and just cant get the CIS to cooperate. And since I hate CIS with a passion, I'll be megasquirting this car as well. I'll do my research to see what's swappable from the later model M119's to the early style M119, but if you guys have any useful information don't hesitate to share . (Picture of my megasquirt 400E is included just for fun lol).





    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  20. #17
    Senior Member Jord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Starke Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: 500SL cluster is incorrect

    I also can't seem to change the name of this thread lol.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. FS: 119.960 6.0L AMG Engine (1990-92 500SL)
    By classicamgUK in forum Off-Topic Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-07-2017, 08:55 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2016, 10:37 AM
  3. AMG 500SL 6.0
    By Ron500E in forum AMG & Tuner Cars
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-20-2016, 11:19 AM
  4. Repairs & maintenance when incorrect diagnosis & Information - Case study
    By 195910 in forum Troubleshooting and Diagnostics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-12-2012, 11:12 AM
  5. modern seat cover leather incorrect
    By John Bicht in forum Interior Topics
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 09:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •