Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: ETA issues - Limp mode

  1. #1
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    ETA issues - Limp mode

    I have recently rebuilt my engine and had it back in the car this summer.
    After re-connecting everything the car fired up and all seemed to be right but the ASR light in the dash.
    It's in limp home mode and can't solve it.
    First suspect was the ETA wiring because it was still the original from 1991 so I purchased a used one from 2006. No luck.
    Then I changed the NSS because it was also the original one. No luck.
    Then the ECU. That did not solve the problem but eliminated the error codes in pin 7.
    Finally, last things changed are the TPS at throttle pedal and brake light switch. No luck either.

    So situation right now is this:
    Whith ignition on before fire up the throttle works properly. If I press the pedal the butterfly opens.
    When I fire up the engine, as soon as I touch the pedal you feel something happens, idle surges to 1000-1100rpm and the pedal has no response until pressed hard.
    When I check the error codes at pin 6 and 7 there are no codes. Just one blink.

    I'm completely lost.

    Anybody here has some idea? I have read all the threads related to ASR LHM and can't find something similar to this.

    Could it be some kind of vacuum leak?

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks



    Enviado desde mi Aquaris X Pro mediante Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Senior Member Eno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Doha, Qatar
    Posts
    313

    Re: ETA issues

    Check the E-Gas module also and the throttle sensor behind the gas pedal which has two wires.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  3. #3
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    Re: ETA issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Eno View Post
    Check the E-Gas module also and the throttle sensor behind the gas pedal which has two wires.
    Thanks for the reply Eno.
    My original E-Gas was throwing error code 12 (voltagle supply at circuit 87).
    So I tried 2 different E-Gas, one from a W140 500 and the other from a W124 400. With both the blink faults disappear but the problem persist.

    About the sensor in the pedal I replaced it yesterday with a brand new from dealer.

    I have also adjusted linkage and I think it's ok. Otherwise I guess it would trigger the limp home even with ignition on but engine not running.

  4. #4
    Intl 500E GTG coordinator 195910's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,657

    Re: ETA issues

    Is it persistent or only during warm up ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    Re: ETA issues

    Quote Originally Posted by 195910 View Post
    Is it persistent or only during warm up ?
    It's persistent


    Enviado desde mi Aquaris X Pro mediante Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Senior Member Eno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Doha, Qatar
    Posts
    313

    Re: ETA issues

    Check the ASR module also.
    If you are in the CAN box, remove battery cables before, remove all the modules, clean the dust down there and place all the modules back very firmly in.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  7. #7
    .036 Hoonigan™
    E500E Boffin
    gsxr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Boise, ID, USA
    Posts
    21,175

    Re: ETA issues

    This will be VERY difficult to diagnose without a digital scanner to provide live data. You've already replaced most of the components in the system.

    Do you have access to another vehicle where you can plug in the 2006 ETA for testing? Just because it's newer datecode does not guarantee it is good (although it should be.)


  8. #8
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    Re: ETA issues

    I already tried that as well.
    I found one of the connection a little sunk into the socket. So I had to dismantle all the box to put it back into place.

    What I haven't tried is using another ASR module.
    Maybe it's the only thing left to change.



    Enviado desde mi Aquaris X Pro mediante Tapatalk
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9

    Re: ETA issues

    Quote Originally Posted by carboRS2 View Post
    ...but the ASR light in the dash.
    It's in limp home mode and can't solve it.
    ...Could it be some kind of vacuum leak?
    I have had the ASR come up when I had a malfunctioning throttle cable (the white plastic screw was broken)
    The broken piece was causing a fluctuation adjustment position. However, the car didn't go into Limp Home Mode, just the ASR light stayed on.

    Could it be a vacuum leak? I am not sure what type of faults a broken breather hose to the ETA would cause.
    But it is possible that when you twisted the ETA into position, the breather hose that is on the back of the ETA cracked at the junction. That would happen if the hose were very brittle.

  10. #10
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    Re: ETA issues

    Could it be a vacuum leak? I am not sure what type of faults a broken breather hose to the ETA would cause.

    I renewed the hoses because they broke all in pieces when I removed the old throttle body.

    But I still suspect about it because it's the only thing that changes from ignition on (when it works) to engine fired up (when it stops working).

    Maybe I'm wrong but if it works well just with ignition on it should be because the E-Gas is getting good signal from all the sensors.

    And when I fire up the engine is when the vacuum is created.

    Enviado desde mi Aquaris X Pro mediante Tapatalk

  11. #11
    .036 Hoonigan™
    E500E Boffin
    gsxr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Boise, ID, USA
    Posts
    21,175

    Re: ETA issues

    Vacuum leaks should not cause limp mode, that would only cause engine running issues. However, I'm not 100% certain... Klink?

    Dave M.
    1997 E420 (Bugeyes)
    1994 E420 (Blondie)
    1994 E500 (Q-ship)
    1992 500E (Mach 5)
    1987 300D (Sportline Stage 2)
    Click here for my website
    Click here for my YouTube channel

  12. #12
    E500E Guru sheward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Cumming, Georgia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    2,213

    Re: ETA issues - Limp mode

    Is that corrosion I think i'm seeing in those module receptacles?

    drew
    Drew
    92 500e 58,500 miles
    92 500e 180,000+ miles
    93 500e 179,000 miles sold
    92 500e 110,000 miles sold

  13. #13
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    Re: ETA issues - Limp mode

    I'm considering to take to the dealer but it's 80km from where I live and I'm not very confident in current mechanics dealing with such an old model.
    What do you think? Should I give them a chsnce?
    And is it good driving 80km in this condition?

    Enviado desde mi Nexus 5 mediante Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    Re: ETA issues - Limp mode

    Quote Originally Posted by sheward View Post
    Is that corrosion I think i'm seeing in those module receptacles?

    drew
    Where? I did not notice anything. Maybe it's the zoom that gives a white effect...

    Enviado desde mi Nexus 5 mediante Tapatalk

  15. #15
    E500E Guru sheward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Cumming, Georgia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    2,213

    Re: ETA issues - Limp mode

    Yes, it could be.

    drew
    Drew
    92 500e 58,500 miles
    92 500e 180,000+ miles
    93 500e 179,000 miles sold
    92 500e 110,000 miles sold

  16. #16

    Re: ETA issues - Limp mode

    I would not trust a mechanic that isn't familiar with the older m119's.
    I would check to make sure the return spring on the ETA is hooked up.
    And I would re-check the ETA linkages and throttle cable.

    Quote Originally Posted by carboRS2 View Post
    I'm considering to take to the dealer but it's 80km from where I live and I'm not very confident in current mechanics dealing with such an old model.
    What do you think? Should I give them a chsnce?
    And is it good driving 80km in this condition?

    Enviado desde mi Nexus 5 mediante Tapatalk

  17. #17
    Senior Member carboRS2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Tortosa (Spain)
    Posts
    108

    Re: ETA issues - Limp mode

    It seems there's a Mercedes Classic Center in Barcelona.
    It almost 200km trip from where I live. Can I drive the car so far in limp mode?

    Enviado desde mi Aquaris X Pro mediante Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Limp home mode !!!!
    By Mercedes only in forum Troubleshooting and Diagnostics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2015, 09:49 AM
  2. Limp Home mode
    By Trae in forum De-Coding
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 05-26-2015, 12:49 PM
  3. Need help with ASR and limp home mode.
    By Russell R Coe in forum Electrical, CAN and Wiring
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2014, 03:58 PM
  4. Limp Home Mode again
    By m00n in forum M119 Engine
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2014, 08:03 AM
  5. Limp mode again
    By 500ESpain in forum Troubleshooting and Diagnostics
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-09-2011, 05:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •