Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: HOW-TO: M104 / W124 Top-End Rebuild

Site Honcho
    Klugscheisser
    Ich bekenne mich
    nicht schuldig.

HOW-TO: M104 / W124 Top-End Rebuild

Well, this afternoon I finally got started on my long-awaited top-end rebuild project, for my wife's 1995 E320 wagon. The symptoms that precipitated this rebuild are the following:
    • a couple of small, persistent oil leaks from the head gasket
    • a moderate leak at the front timing cover

The timing cover had been re-sealed about 5 years ago, when we first moved to Texas. It's just a fact of life that they require re-sealing from time to time, probably every 60-75K miles. The head gaskets on these cars are also prone to leakage. Generally every 100-125K miles they spring leaks and eventually require replacement.

The car currently has almost 202,000 miles on the odometer, and the engine runs excellently, with plenty of power.

This is my first time doing major rebuild work on the engine of this car. In the past I've replaced the starter, alternator, motor mounts, coil packs, neutral safety switches, and things like that, but never major mechanical surgery. Thus, as with my M117 project this will be a big learning experience for me, and I am looking forward to it.

I expect the project to take 4-6 weeks, depending on the speed at which I am able to tear down the engine, as well as the speed of the machine shop and ETA remanufacturing shop in finishing those respective jobs. The car will have all soft parts underhood basically replaced, including all rubber, plastic, hoses, vacuum lines, connectors, seals, and so forth.